Footscray Lacrosse fill the senior state teams!

Jamie First, Maribyrnong Leader

FOOTSCRAY players are shooting for success at the national lacrosse championship after scooping up nearly a third of the spots on the Victorian senior men’s and women’s squads.

Miles Blair, Jeff Melsopp, Peter Kwas, James Lawerson and Chris Plumb, along with Abbie Burgess, Verity Clough, Stella Justice-Allen, Rebecca Lane, Esther Lavelle, Nelly Mollison and Sarah Mollison will represent the state at the Australian Lacrosse Association’s event in Adelaide from June 8 to 11.

Footscray Lacrosse Club president Tim Lane said he was extremely proud of his club.

“To have 12 make it is a great effort,” Mr Lane said.

“Plus they all have jobs and go to school, so to balance that and make the team is fantastic.”

He said the squads, which are defending champions, were an inspiration to others.

“Our junior program all look up to the senior players and aspire to be the best, so to have so many quality role models is great,” he said.

The 2017 ALA National Championship will be held at the East Torrens Payneham Lacrosse Club.

All 12 are eligible to be a Maribyrnong Leader Senior Sports Star nominee.

Nominate a Local Sports Star here.